Reiki is a Japanese technique for stress reduction and relaxation that also promotes healing. It is administered by "laying on hands" and is based on the idea that an unseen "life force energy" flows through us and is what causes us to be alive. If one's "life force energy" is low, then we are more likely to get sick or feel stress, and if it is high, we are more capable of being happy and healthy.

The word Reiki is made of two Japanese words - Rei which means "God's Wisdom or the Higher Power" and Ki which is "life force energy". So Reiki is actually "spiritually guided life force energy."

After many years of study and practice with Energy work, including Polarity, Pranic Healing, Reiki and Sound therapy I keep coming back to Reiki because of its simplicity.  In yoga we build "prana" (life force energy), in Tai Chi and Qi Gong we build "Chi" (life force energy), in truth it is all building light, gathering light to illuminate ourselves, there are many ways to this, breath work, yoga, rhythmic exercise to name a few.   Reiki is beautiful and simple way to gather light unto ourselves to illuminate our way, our true selves and step into our own state of grace.  I still have difficulty in describing a Reiki session to someone who has no experience in any of these light-building techniques, truly it is best experienced to understand.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 11.38.38 AM.png

Chakras and Subtle Anatomy  

Wheels of Light, Chakras are our Energy organs that circulate, draw in light and disperse our life force.  Each of the 7 major chakras correspond to an endocrine organ (gland).  Chakras are the areas of focus for Energy workers, cleaning, clearing, activating and balancing.  Our Chakras generate the electro-magnetic field around us called an aura.  Our aura is a sensory organ and provides feedback from our environment.  It acts as a boundary, like a fan protecting us from harmful energy.  The clearer we are the stronger our boundary and protection.  Flow and motion are the key to a healthy auric system.  


In eastern philosophy the human form is described physically and esoterically.  Yoga is beautiful model to work with.  It is not associated with any religion but is a philosophy to help us gain enlightenment.  It is a complete technique to gain personal insight and growth.  It is part physical regiment (asana-postures), breath work (pranayama) for consciousness change, contemplation to build awareness, and information to help process your journey.  Yoga maintains that all events need to be processed on five levels.  These are the most substantial fields we have to work with here on this material plane.  It is the reason we have taken on a body – to process time linearly - and explore our own five elements.  As we build awareness other levels of our consciousness are revealed and we can begin to build ourselves into another “dimension”.  

These five levels or bodies are

  • Physical (most dense and slowest-earth)

  • Mental (water)

  • Emotional (fire)

  • Spiritual (Air)

  • Etheric (Ether - beyond)

We can be physically healed but still suffer emotionally from fear and mentally from worry regarding an old illness.  We often intellectually understand an event, like a child moving far away and yet still feel sad because we have not processed the change emotionally.  Life is the process to teach us to process events on all levels to continue our evolution to the next highest level of ourselves.  


It is written there are energy organs or vortexes throughout our body.  They direct a life force through our physical body to animate it.  This mechanism generates our form and existence (perception).  They are called Chakras.  The word Chakra means spinning wheel.  Those who have the ability to see subtle forms of energy describe them as spinning wheels of light.  These energy vortexes generate a field around the body called an aura.  The aura is a force field that extends generously around the body.  It can have many colors and reflects our thoughts at each moment.  You could call it a mind field.  

Your aura or mind-field can extend or contract depending on our emotions.  It is a sensory organ – it provides us with subtle information from our external environment.  It is programmable and controllable if we choose.  It is the sense that can feel the weight of someone’s stare.  It is the sense that makes us feel uneasy when we enter a room where two people were fighting.  We usually get tingling sensations, the chills or feel a strong sensation in the pit of our stomach when it is vying for our attention.  

There are 7 major chakras, each is associated with a task, age, color, and physical element.  Chakras are all about flow.  One chakra pulls to the next and so on until a continuous flow of energy allows us to manifest ourselves in the world; this flow gives us zest, charisma, and vitality.  When a chakra is blocked it will keep pulling energy to that block trying to free it if unsuccessful the blockage will grow.  This building of stagnant energy will create an obsession or a physical symptom over time.  What a blockage needs is our attention and affirmation.